“Let others attack with great force; use four ounces to deflect a thousand pounds.“ – Classics

Chinese martial art Taijiquan (Taiji, Tai chi) belongs to inner styles of martial arts. It develops so-called inner force. Taijiquan connects Shaolin martial ideas with Taoist ideas of softness, relaxation and nonviolence. It manifests constant change – the Taiji principle. Taijiquan develops whole body movement and cultivates the circulation of Qi energy to its highest levels. Therefore it is known also as a health exercise and is considered the highest form of Qigong.

Sets practiced in Taijiquan

Taijiquan techniques are passed on in sets (forms). Videos here provide a complete overview of traditional Yang style Taijiquan. The sets follow each other, each one brings higher levels of difficulty. Notice that the pair sets start with step-free exercises, later steps and more fighting ideas are added. Everything culminates in a dynamic Sanshou set that carries the highest martial skills.

  • These videos are in Czech language. If people will be interested in Interplay Training, these videos will be done with English voiceover.

1) Solo form

2) Basic Tuishou

3) Advanced Tuishou

4) Three steps Tuishou

5) Dalu

6) Sanshou set

Inner and external martial arts

Chinese martial arts differ from each other. According to the used techniques, we can divide them into external and internal styles. However, there is no precise boundary. Each martial art uses both concepts to a different extent.

External styles (hard styles) are characterized mainly by strength of positions and practicing forceful strikes. The positions are strong also from a visual point of view. Due to the shown physical strength, these styles are attractive and easier to understand for spectators. Physical strength awakens subconscious respect.

Inner styles (soft styles) are based on the concept of inner movement, which leads to the cultivation of inner strength. Internal styles use the ability to change and adapt. The visual side of the positions may not look strong and therefore can be misunderstood by inexperienced viewers. All the more surprising is the unexpected strength and effectiveness of internal martial techniques.

Traditional Chinese inner styles are Taijiquan, Xingyi and Bagua. These three arts differ in their degree of softness. Taiji is considered to be the softest and is often compared to a so-called rubber ball.

Taijiquan consists of several styles named after their founding families. Some have fallen into oblivion, others are still evolving. Each style branches into the lineages of masters and teachers through whom Taijiquan is passed on. All Taijiquan schools are very distinctive due to their lineage and also reflect the character of the teacher or master. There are a big variety of schools and also a big variety of teaching systems.

Go to Interplay Training